Shore Leave 33: Where’s Marco?

The annual Shore Leave F/SF media convention in Hunt Valley, Maryland is just a week away, and as most of my nerd brethren have already posted their preliminary programming schedules for that weekend, I figured it was time I did the same.

To my surprise, my name appears on more panels this year than in than any previous Shore Leave I’ve attended in the last decade.  So if you’re interested in where I’ll be, here’s the 4-1-1:

Friday, July 8

7pm-9pm, Hunt/Valley Room: The Third Annual Shore Leave Comedy Roast For Charity 

Benefitting the American Red Cross, this year my fellow roasters and I pile on my friend Bob Greenberger—all for a good cause, natch. You can find out more about it here.

10pm-Midnight, the Hunt/Valley corridor: Meet the Pros

Meet and chat with the Shore Leave author guests–including me! Previous years I was always here purely as an editor. This year I get to be an author as well, celebrating the publication of Star Trek Vanguard: Declassified, which will be available for sale all weekend at the con. Woo-hoo!

Saturday, July 9

10am-11am, Chase Room: What Makes a Villain Great?

Insights and analysis of the ingredients that go into truly awesome antogonists. With David Mack and Alan Kistler

11am-Noon, Salon E: You Maniacs! The Enduring Appeal of Planet of the Apes.

All right, I admit it, I specifically requested this one. Beware the beast Man…and pass me the bananas. With Dayton Ward, Greg Cox, Dave Galanter, and Alan Kistler

1pm-2pm, Salon A: Star Trek Magazine

I join editor and Shore Leave virgin Paul Simpson, Dayton Ward, Kevin Dilmore, Scott Pearson, and David George III as we talk about all the cool stuff that goes into the mag, what’s coming up, and why you should be reading it.

4pm-5pm, Belmont Room: Myriad Universes and Alternate Timelines

A book concept I launched in 2008 about Star Trek alternate realities recently published its third collection of novellas, and I reunite with several of the authors (Scott Pearson, David R. George III, and Bill Leisner) to talk about bending Trek history.

5pm-6pm, Derby Room: Bring Back Janeway

I’m not officially on this panel, but I volunteered to join my pal, acclaimed Star Trek: Voyager novelist Kirsten Beyer as she invites an open discussion of Pocket’s controversial decision to kill a canonical Star Trek captain, and what that means for Voyager fiction.

Sunday, July 10

11am-Noon, Salon F: The Making of a Reboot

What old show would you want to see updated?  We all have a favorite. Find which ones Kevin Dilmore, Bill Leisner, Scott Pearson, Paul Simpson, Amy Sisson and I think are rife with potential.

Noon-1pm, Derby Room: Writing for Cancelled Shows

Believe it or not, there really is an art to this, and it’s my honor to share this hour with some of the artists: Kirsten Beyer, Greg Cox, Keith DeCandido, Kevin Dilmore, David Mack, and Dayton Ward.  

1pm-2pm, Derby Room: Star Trek Vanguard: Still Going Strong

Dave, Dayton, Kevin and I talk about our latest collaboration, Declassified, and the guys drop some hints about their next two novels in the series, What Judgments Come and Storming Heaven

Nerdcore art by Chris Whetzel

Leave a Reply

