The Countdown to July Officially Begins

The preliminary list of author guests for Shore Leave #33 has been posted, and I’m on it!

Shore Leave is a fan-run science fiction convention held every July at Marriott’s Hunt Valley Inn, just outside Baltimore. This year the con runs over the weekend of  July 8-10.

I always have a great time at Shore Leave, and I’m looking forward to this one in particular because it’ll be my first as an author. The convention coincides roughly with the publication of Star Trek Vanguard: Declassified, the book in which my novella, The Ruins of Noble Men, will appear. My hope, of course, is that the convention will have a bookvendor on hand with copies to sell. Historically that vendor is a team from a local chapter of Borders, but with the company having just filed for Chapter 11 and currently expected to close around 200 or more of its branches, it remains to be seen how that will affect their presence at Shore Leave, and what other arrangements the con can make, if it proves necessary. Hopefully it won’t be. The Borders people who come to Shore Leave are a great group, and I really hope they can weather the current storm.

Whatever happens, I still look forward to the annual round up of all the usual suspects, which this year will include my friend Paul from across the Pond, who is attending Shore Leave for the first time.


4 responses

  1. Paul Simpson

    I’ve a feeling it’s going to be a weekend to remember… at least for those of us who aren’t going to be that hungover!!

    February 17, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    • I’ve found that a stiff drink just before the Comedy Roast helps make it funnier…and a few more right after helps with the moments that are best left forgotten.

      February 17, 2011 at 1:17 pm

  2. PW just published the list of 242 Borders stores that will be shuttered. Do you remember what city Russ’s store was in? There are only three closings in Maryland: Kensington, Largo, and Bowie.

    That said, the company warns there could be as many as 75 more closings.

    February 17, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    • Thanks for that, Dave. I’m afraid I don’t know which store was Russ’s. I’ll drop Inge a line. I’m sure she’ll know.

      February 17, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Leave a Reply

