The Ruins of Noble Men

It’s been a zany couple of months, and with the New Year already three days old, it feels like it’s about time I started posting again.

November was stressful and invigorating, as I spent most of the month completing my novella for next July’s Star Trek Vanguard: Declassified, the new chapter in a book series I launched, in collaboration with writer David Mack, back in 2005 as a senior editor at Simon & Schuster. The series is about events that were taking place parallel with the original adventures of the Starship Enterprise, with new characters, locales, and situations. In a nutshell, the idea was to offer readers a broader perspective on that era of the Star Trek mythology.

Well, last winter, the authors behind the series, David Mack, Dayton Ward, and Kevin Dilmore, informed me they were planning a collection of tales to fit between the most recent Vanguard novel and the next one, and they graciously invited me to write one of the stories. Once I recovered from the surprise and overcame my initial hesitation, I gave some thought to what my story might be about and ended up signing on enthusiastically. My contribution, entitled The Ruins of Noble Men, is one of four novellas that will reveal previously undisclosed aspects of the Vanguard backstory, and also propel the series forward.

I had great fun writing Ruins, and I feel pretty good about how it turned out . . . enough that I’m dusting off an original fiction project I reluctantly put on hold last year. My goal is to work on it between editorial projects in 2011, and I’m feeling optimistic.

I’ve got the itch. It feels good to scratch.

4 responses

  1. K.H.

    I’m very excited to see both Ruins and your 100% original work.

    Scratch the itch. Embrace the optimism. 🙂

    January 3, 2011 at 9:03 pm

  2. Gabriel

    Oh, that sounds cool. I can’t wait to read some original M.P. fiction! 🙂

    January 5, 2011 at 4:30 am

Leave a Reply

